MasterKitty343’s Big List of Unplayed Games: An Introduction

When a parent buys a games console for their child, one of two things happen. Either they buy every game under the sun for little Timmy to play, or they leave them with the games the console came with.

Unfortunately for me, my parents were the latter. When they bought my brother and I our PSone, we were stuck with Crash Bandicoot and Star Wars Episode I: Jedi Power Battles. Don’t get me wrong, they were both great games, and we did manage to borrow games from friends (and never return them – tee hee), but by not providing us with games, our parents unintentionally stunted our gaming growth, and stopped us from playing some of the more memorable games of all time.

Fast forward to today and you will find a girl with a love of games, but not a solid history of them. I’ve never played Spyro, Golden Eye, Pokemon Red, Yellow or Blue, or even Sonic The Hedgehog, at least without an emulator. Which makes it difficult to try and become a part of any gaming community, or even conversation. Sure, I’ve done plenty of research. I know what games were available on which consoles, and what they entailed. But I don’t remember the feeling of playing Super Smash Bros with friends and someone suddenly getting the ever elusive smash ball and destroying us all.

I don’t blame my parents. How were they to know I’d grow up to have games as such a huge part of my life? However, there are some games and franchises that I wish I’d played sooner, or at least on the console they were intended for. And that’s what this series is going to be about.

Next week’s episode: The Legend Of Zelda

One response to “MasterKitty343’s Big List of Unplayed Games: An Introduction

Leave a Reply

